Cultivating Contentment

Over the last several weeks the idea of being content has been on my heart.  I probably make at least one comment per day to my wife about how I’m not content about something – job, ministry, finances (just being honest). She does a great job of reminding me that God is in control, but there is still a part of me that wants more or wants something different.  And this has been hugely unsettling in my heart.  It has made me irritable towards my wife and daughters – and I hate that.  But, I just can’t seem to get a handle on being content.

My mind runs the gamut of feelings associated with not being content just about everyday – it’s like a roller coaster.  And again, Janice does a great job of encouraging me, but I have to believe that she gets tired of doing that – she’ll get to the point where she says, “I just want you to be content with something.”  And I’ll respond, “me too.”  I’ll have a few moments where I’m feeling good about things, but then my mind begins to race again.

Today, I came across a post on The Resurgence (www.theresurgence.com) written by Dave Kraft on covetousness.  In his title he describes it as the “acceptable sin.”  And that’s exactly what it has become.  Coveting what others have has become a way of life in the United States – all of the marketing seems to be built on what we don’t have – showing us people that do have that thing, and how we’ll be happier if we just had “it.”  For example – the iPhone 4 comes out – it’s a great phone with tons of great features.  Not too long after that, there’s a commercial that begins to air showing a phone that talks back to its owner – giving directions, advice, movie showtimes, etc.  Behold, the iPhone 4S.  And people that just got an iPhone 4 are genuinely upset because the 4S is better…and now they have to have it.

This is a small example, but this is what creates a culture of covetousness in us.  We have to have the new “whatever”…And our happiness/joy hinges on having whatever that “whatever” is.  We say things either in our minds or out loud like: if I only had a new vehicle that didn’t have these problems I’d be happy – if I only had a bigger house, with a nice deck and pool – if my husband or wife would act like this, or treat me like this – if my kids didn’t have these problems – if I could have that job, making that money – (a personal one that I’ve struggled over the years) if I could only be a part of that ministry or lead that church…

“What is causing the quarrels and fights among you? Don’t they come from the evil desires at war within you? You want what you don’t have, so you scheme and kill to get it. You are jealous of what others have, but you can’t get it, so you fight and wage war to take it away from them. Yet you don’t have what you want because you don’t ask God for it.  And even when you ask, you don’t get it because your motives are all wrong—you want only what will give you pleasure.” -James 4:1-3

Just reading this passage of scripture stings – it’s a brutal reminder of the brokenness and sin that we wrestle with (especially in western culture).  It’s something that I wrestle with – daily.  While reading the post from Dave Kraft, he posts a prayer…and I want to share it with you:

“Jesus, [I want] to be content with who I am, where I am, what I’m doing and what you’re doing. To covet nothing but a dynamic and anointed walk and work with you. To cling to you and you alone.”

I want this – I want to cling to Him and Him alone.  To find my joy and purpose in Him…I’m not there yet, but God isn’t finished with me yet – and so there is hope.  What about you.  Are you cultivating a culture of contentment or of covetousness?

Here is the post by Dave Kraft:

http://theresurgence.com/2010/09/30/coveting-the-acceptable-sin

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment